SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Stellarium And Windows 8

SionR25

Hi everyone,

I got the Windows 8 preview a few days ago and it all seems to be going rather smoothly (I like the new start screen and operations seem quite fast and smooth), apart from Stellarium. It lags on any function, jerky movements and pretty much unusable. Just wondering has anyone else experienced this and is there a way round it (without reverting to Windows 7 :p)?

Sion

• Replies 38
  • Created
  • Last Reply

And you might want to try the stellarium 1.1.3rc see if that works, report it to the programers if you have a problem with it. :grin:

Being a developer myself, I'd tell you to go away (polite version) if my software didn't work on your beta OS ;)

As mentioned above, it's most likely a driver issue for the graphics card and it's more relevant to Microsoft than Stellarium at this point in time.

And you might want to try the stellarium 1.1.3rc see if that works, report it to the programers if you have a problem with it.

I didn't realise I was so out of date !!! :eek:

I'm still running 0.11.3

;):grin::rolleyes2:

Regards,

Paul

Windows 8 :eek: ......what happened to "if is ain't bust don't fix it"

Oh I get it MS wants more money

I read somewhere that Windows 10 is in development, they have a long term game to plan, Windows 7 was well worth the upgrade as soon as I can download a technet release candidate Windows 8 I will be. that will mean a dedicated pc for it before using it for real on my PC though

It's called progress ;)

You realise Win7 is three years old now?

we do normally get up to service pack 3 though, perhaps that is a sign on the overall improvement 7 was from the get go...

we do normally get up to service pack 3 though, perhaps that is a sign on the overall improvement 7 was from the get go...

7 was a huge improvement there's no doubt about that.