Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

PST and DFK focusing

Hi all,

I've been lucky enough to be loaned a PST and DFK for the transit.

I was really hoping that there were going to be some sunny spells between now and then so that I could practise.

But looking at the weather it's looking a little unlikely, so I have a few question?

I have never used a PST before or imaged the sun with anything other than white light filter and a digicamera. So please make this simple.

1. Will I be able to get focus ok with just the PST and DFK?

2. I will be using a static tripod, so what will the image scale be like?

3. How long will the sun be in the FOV? I also have been lent a 2.5 TV power mate. If I add that same question.

4. Do you do the same as the moon/planets and take a 1000 frame avi and stack it? Or smaller ones? Or single frames?

5. Which codec should I use, as I'm not going to get a second chance at this.

6. Can anyone give me a ball park on the exposure times needed? Just so I can start in roughly the right place.

Sorry for lots of questions, but I'd really appreciate some guidance.

Cheers

Ant

Which DFK camera? the 41 will give you a full disk, the 21 and 31 will clip the disk.

The PST is a 400mm FL scope and you should use Y800, the default. Take a video around 1000frames or more and then use registax to create a single image.

With the gain at 100 on a DMK41 typical exposures will be 1/100 - 1/15 second depending on whether you want the surface detail or prominences.

The sun subtends an angle of about 0.5 degrees and moves at 15 degrees an hour

Is there no way you can get it on a driven mount Ant? Trying to focus when the sun moves so quickly is a recipe for frustration I found! The DMK probably won't come to focus without a barlow unless you have a low profile nosepiece.

Helen

I have a dmk21 myself, but Jon suggested that maybe colour would be better for the transit. But if the general opinion is b&w is better then I'll go with that.