Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

First deep sky images

I thought I would post my first attempts at deep sky imaging from the weekend. Not because they are good (they are terrible!) but because I need advice and this may be useful for other absolute beginners.

My main question is can I get any more detail out of these pictures? There is a drop box link at the bottom of the post, which links to two TIFF files. These were stacked in DSS and processed a little. If anyone can improve them given the numerous issues I will be amazed. The main thing is I need a lot more time for exposures as there is only around 8 minutes in total.

To be honest I am quite pleased as I don't have the faintest idea what I am doing and you can see stars in the images and possibly, very faintly, M81 and M82, plus M51 if you search really carefully!

Taken with my old Canon 20d DSLR, equinox 80ed refractor and HEQ5 mount. Camera controlled from my notebook computer using astrophotography tools (APT). 12 pictures stacked and processed a little in Deep Sky Stacker, for M51 and 6 for M81 and M82

The first issue is the black circles, I presume this is dust? I have now cleaned my camera sensor and seem to have got rid of it.

I am quite pleased the stars look reasonably sharp, I spent a long time taking photos of a bright star and adjusting focus by looking at the images on the computer screen. Using the APT focusing aid, FWHM.

The next issue is that if I took exposures of more than around 1 and a half minutes the image was washed out. I assume this is due to my bad light pollution on the outskirts of London and I need a light pollution filter?

I experimented with exposures ranging from 30 seconds to 90 seconds and ISO settings 400, 800 and 1600. How long exposure is needed, for example for M51?

I never intended to go down the slippery slope of astrophotography, as I guessed how hard it would be to take good pictures!