Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Beginners Help

Hi everyone.

I am new to astronomy and new to forums so please be gentle with me!

I am waiting for the delivery of a Skywatcher Explorer 200P (EQ5) telescope and hopefully it should arrive tomorrow.

I just wondered if anyone could help me out with a little bit of advice.

I live in west London and I know the light pollution around here is terrible but I don't know of any good viewing places where the sky will be darker so I would appreciate anyone's tips on where to go.

The other thing I could do with some advice on is good reading material that an absolute beginner would understand.

Thank you to anyone who can help me out.

Hello and welcome. Totally agree with jflowers. Turn Left At Orion is the newbies bible. Although it is mainly for people with small scopes, I am sure it would be of immense help as you start out on your stargazing journey.

Also definately download Stellarium off the internet. It is a free programme that shows you everything in the night sky. an absolute must.

With regards to places to observe, unfortunately where you live couldn't be much worse. There is The Hub in Regents Park where the Baker St Irregular Astronomers meet up. Failing that if you can get your scope out of the lp by taking a bit of a drive out then that may help.

Hi

I'm located around the Ruislip area of West London and live very close to the various Woods that form part of the green belt. There are a few areas of fields and meadow land that are ideal. The LP facing west (over the wooded areas) is surprisingly good for an outer Borough of London but if you travel out a bit further to say Beaconsfield or High Wycombe it gets better.

Remember that it's not a good idea to be out observing alone.

You need to put a lot of miles behind you to fully escape the orange glow that is London :(.