SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Question How do I connect everything for imaging ?

Fish-Man

Hi,

I am relatively new to astronomy as I had a long break, and have been re-astronomising (wow, is that a new word !?!) for about 6 months now.

I would like to start doing a bit of imaging, but am not sure where to start. I have searched this, (and other) forums and have an understanding of the terms and what to do, but I don't know where to start.

Luckily for me, I have inherited a box of bits from a friend of mines late father (who was into imaging), so I thought I would put it together and start out with his (my) bits.

So, here is a run-down of what's in the box:

9x50 guidescope with an SPC900 shoved up the tube.

GPUSB interface box from Shoestring Astronomy.

Manual filter wheel with 5 positions (unbranded).

B&W ICX414 CCD imaging box (is box the correct description?) from JTW Astronomy.

Leads - loads of them !

Adaptors, electrical and mechanical.

Filters etc.....

My visual set-up is a Vixen R200SS Newt with Telrad etc. on an HEQ-5 Pro mount.

Judging by its widespread use in forums, I will probably be using PHD for the guiding.

Now, my questions are:

1. What other software do I need ?

2. How does all the hardware fit together (a drawing of some sort would be great) ?

3. What software controls what bit of hardware ?

Thanks in advance for ANY help on this,

Paul

• Replies 26
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Sounds like the 414 CCD imaging box (aka camera!) is the imaging cam so you should be able to connect that to the filter wheel and then couple that to the drawtube of the focuser on your scope - either via a screw thread or by using a nose piece that attaches to the filterwheel and then drops into the drawtube.