70mm v 130mm

Hi currently using a. Bresser. Skylux 70 mm and have been thinking of upgrading. is a sky watcher 130 p a big enough upgrade over the Bresser.

I already have a couple of gso. Plossls

the 130p is a very nice scope, i had the pleasure of looking though the DOB version last week we were able to see venus quite nicely at dusk (had to pack up before astro darkness though)

and with the eyepeices already.......

does your budget allow a 6" 150p? that might be a bigger jump and does let you get into the decent nebular areas

Hi Ado I have the a Bresser 70mm as well (brilliant scope) and I've just bought a 130mm celestron. I have to say the difference is not that great, by that I mean it was no bigger however when viewing Saturn last night the image was much brighter so im hoping when I get the webcam on it I should be able to pick out more detail. Also I managed to see one of Saturn's moons which I was not able to with the 70mm. I am a newbie but im really pleased with the 130mm so far. Im keeping the Bresser though as it's much lighter and easier to move around (no heavy counterweights).

I've been offered a 130p md with red dot, 4 Plossls and 2 x Barlow for 130 only used a few times by a friend .what do you think .

I was going to wait and get the 150 As suggested but this offer came up.

Get what you truly want. The general advice is get the largest you can afford/manage. Your friend is offering a good deal, but if you have room in your life for a 150, you should probably go for that. The views will be better, and you won't be left wondering "what if...".

A 130P md? Has it been fitted with an accessory motor drive or is it a 130M? One is a 900mm focal length tube with a spherical mirror and the the 130P has a 650mm focal length with a parabolic mirror. They are both good scopes but it helps to know which one it is.

Update its a 130p as stated with single axis drive corrector remote x2 and x4 speed .