Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

TAL 1 - EYEPIECE PROBLEM

Hello everybody. I'm new to this (both stargazing and forums) and would really be grateful for some help.

I have bought a second hand Tal 1 telescope. It is my first telescope - It is an older telescope - 1994 and is slightly grey in colour (rather than white).

Unfortunately it didn't come with any eyepieces. The seller told me

that these would be very easy to get hold of.

Being a complete novice, I went out and bought a couple of Revelation 1.25" plossl eyepieces (12mm and 15mm).

I was so excited when I fitted the eyepieces and tried to use the telescope for the first time. Unfortunately the eyepieces do not bring the telescope into focus (they also feel slightly loose).

I have now 'Googled' this to try and find an answer. It appears that others have experienced this problem. I am now feeling slightly foolish for not doing a bit more 'homework' before I bought the telescope.

Is it possible to buy a conversion kit to either change the focuser or somehow reposition the mirror in the tube - or have I bought a complete load of rubbish ? I am so disappointed - any help /advice you can give me would be most welcome.

Thanks

Lumpnuts

• Replies 25
  • Created
  • Last Reply

The seller was right and the eyepieces you have, 12mm and 15mm should fine in it.

I would guess that you need a small extender to move the eyepiece back. Any further details on where the problem is would be helpful. I am assuming that you cannot wind the eyepiece back enough to get a sharp focus.???

Did the scope come with a diagonal - it should have, but if not and you are looking along the scope then you will need a diagonal, which will add to the focal path.