SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Chester newbee

Phil-lost!

Hi all, Im a total novice from chester and really enjoying the hobby so far. Ive seen saturn, mars and venus but am having trouble finding things like clusters and galaxys with a skywatcher 200p on eq5 mount, maybe im expecting too much but any advice would be great. Also does anyone know a good dark site not to far from chester?

• Replies 27
  • Created
  • Last Reply

your scope is perfectly able to see dozens of dsos so do not fear

download stellarium (program) if you havnt already- its free and you put your location in and it shows the sky real time relative to your time and position

try looking up messier lists and these are the most viewable dsos in the sky, so easy ones are m44, m13, m5

also try double cluster in perseus

rich

Hi and welcome to the forum. The secret to finding objects is knowing where to look and for that, you need a good map. I second Rich's suggestion of Stellarium as it has a lot of great features including a red overlay to help you preserve your night vision.

Clear skies

James

Hi all, Im a total novice from chester and really enjoying the hobby so far. Ive seen saturn, mars and venus but am having trouble finding things like clusters and galaxys with a skywatcher 200p on eq5 mount, maybe im expecting too much but any advice would be great. Also does anyone know a good dark site not to far from chester?

hi and welcome to sgl. i know a few good dark sites just come back from one now;) but as said dont go to rhyl.horshoe pass is good and were heading to snowdonia soon if your up for it give me a shout:headbang: