Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

First Light 12" Lightbridge Dob

Dellis

I've been using goto since I started a couple of years ago but I was getting bored with the faff of setting up and lack of a challenge so a couple of months ago I bought myself a 4" refractor and an EQ5. I enjoyed finding things but missed the light grab of my C11 so a couple of weeks ago and after a lot of hunting I bought a 12" Lightbridge, tonight was the first real opportunity I've had to use it other than a glance at the moon through cloud...

So I took the dob outside at around 9 and let things cool off for half an hour or so then let loose :) I started off with Jupiter then onto Venus before looking for Andromeda which turned out to be a bit tricky as the sky was still reasonably bright meaning I couldn't see as much as I would have liked but I found it. I then turned my attentions to The Little Dumbbell Nebula and the California Nebula neither of which I could find, maybe next time... After that if was off to Auriga and M36, M37 & M38 all of which I found easily. I then turned my attentions to Leo and the Leo triplet of M65, M66 & NGC3628 and onto Mars. Next was M81 and M82 and I finished off with Saturn.

I know they are all pretty easy object to find but tonight I proved to myself that I can mange without goto and finding things is so much more rewarding when you do it for yourself. I've enjoyed myself tonight and I'm really glad I took the plunge and sold the C11, the dob is here to stay.

Dave

I agree 100% with you about go-to. I had a go-to scope (Celestron 8SE) that I used one time and decided to sell it. The go-to just took all the fun out of it for me. I realized that the thrill of the hunt and actually finding my target were essential for my enjoyment. Congrats on the new 12LB.