Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Skywatcher Explorer 130P newbie review

So I recently decided it was time to buy myself a telescope. After years of staring at the sky with just my eyes, and occasionally a pair of cheap binoculars, I wanted something more powerful, and with more upgrade potential. I did tons of research, read hundreds of reviews and eventually settled on the Skywatcher Explorer 130P. I'm going to try to write a short review, from the point of view of an absolute beginner.

I ordered the scope from First Light Optics. Shipping to Ireland was a little more expensive, but FLO have a brilliant reputation for customer service so I decided it was worth it. I ordered the scope on a Friday night, and received an email on the following Monday explaining that my scope was out of stock, but that they hoped to be getting it back in within a month, and that I was free to cancel my order at any time, should I want to. Four days later, I got another email saying that my scope was due in the next Monday and would be shipped to me immediately. When it shipped, I was sent a FedEx tracker number, and was able to track my scope and get an idea when it would arrive. FedEx sent it to France for a few hours, for a little holiday I guess, but it arrived in perfect condition last Friday! So major thumbs up to FLO for excellent service and keeping me up to date with what was happening!

First Impression

Once I got the many boxes, bubble wrap and tissue open, the scope itself was surprisingly easy to put together. Screw the tray to the tripod, secure the mount, attach the tube rings to the mount, and then (gently) plonk the OTA into the rings and secure. And that's pretty much it.