Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Changing focuser on a Lunt LS60

Has anyone changed the focuser on a Lunt LS60?

I'm looking to change the focuser (it's a bit rubbish) and I've never done this before. I know I can buy a Feathertouch focuser to fit but I'm trying to see if either of the cheaper options (Baader / Moonlite) will fit. How do I remove the focuser? What do I measure?

Any help will be greatly appreciated.

Many thanks,

Andrew

If no-one has changed the focuser on a Lunt, I'd be really grateful if someone could give some general tips about changing focusers in general.

Thanks again,

Andrew

Olly:

I've had a reply from TS (nice and quick!). They're suggesting using the shorter Newtonian version of the Steeltrack.

I've sent another email asking a few clarifying questions - I'll post the details when I hear back.

Andrew

I have a guy in Finland who is looking seriously at "modding" the Lunt60. He has done a lot of measurements etc.

I'll ask him about the fixing arrangement of the focuser and whether or not he sees a problem.

Stay tuned....

I've taken the standard focuser off a few times. Its attached using three small grubb screws and is very simple to take off and replace. Moonlite do indeed make a Lunt flange, which is tempting, but for me unnecessary as my standard gso works fine.

Ant

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk

Do I take it, from the responses to this thread, that it would be better to get the one with the Feathertouch option from Ian King at the outset?

I wish I had.

The supplied focuser is ok but only ok. It works well enough with my TS planetary EP but it did not like my TV Delos at all.

In the future I will use my scope for imaging and I would like something a bit more secure.

Hopefully I should have a few options priced up by the end of today.

Andrew

Moonlite do indeed make a Lunt flange, which is tempting, but for me unnecessary as my standard gso works fine.

Ant

Where are they available from?

Andrew