Stargazers Lounge Uses Cookies

Like most websites, SGL uses cookies in order to deliver a secure, personalised service, to provide social media functions and to analyse our traffic. Continued use of SGL indicates your acceptance of our cookie policy.

K Nixon

Canon DSLR photography

Hi all,

We've just bought a canon 1100D which we hope to use for astrophotography amongst other things. That's if I ever crack this Merlin mount and get it tracking...

Anyway I was just wondering if there was any general advice for a total newbie to photography?

I have an IR filter ( I assume they are good for SLRs the same as webcam style photography) and the T adapter for the camera, but just wondered if there were any other bits of kit or filters or anything anyone would recommend getting?

Also, what sort of lenses would people recommend for taking direct pictures rather than through a scope and is it worth going down this route?

Thanks all!

Kieron

If its an umm ossified 1100d it won't need an ir filter as it already has 1 built in - depending on the light pollution where your viewing I'd thoroughly recommend something like the astronomik cls clip filter. Also you might want to consider getting a remote timer if your not using a computer. Makes taking multiple exposures much easier

If its an umm ossified 1100d it won't need an ir filter as it already has 1 built in - depending on the light pollution where your viewing I'd thoroughly recommend something like the astronomik cls clip filter. Also you might want to consider getting a remote timer if your not using a computer. Makes taking multiple exposures much easier

Ah didn't realise that! I have one for the wecam we just got for the club, so not bought specially at least. Will get the remote too, if nothing else to avoid the blurriness :)