SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

is that comets I saw?

welcome to the forums dooces!

thanks dooces!

So im new to stargazing having recently bought my 5". having only spent a couple (clear) nights with it, im not sure what it was I was following last night. I may be crazy, but I swear I was following at least 3 comets / meteors / very slow planes on fire / very slow ufos on fire last night. ive searched everywhere for stargazing "events" and have found nothing to explain what they were... they were moving fast enough were I couldn't go 30 seconds without re-centring with a 4mm eyepiece, and I had to constantly move it with the 2x barlow and the 4mm eyepiece... the best way I could describe it would be a spinning disco ball with tentacle wisps... (and there were several)...

so if anyone can please tell me what they were, or if my scope desperatly needs to be collimated (though I can see stars very sharply, and I can even make out the giant red (grey) spot on jupiter), or if i should be posting elsewhere, perhaps to a webmd forum for psychiatric advice.

• Replies 43
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Keep in mind the aadvice given to medical students, "When you hear hoofbeats, think horses, not zebras." First of all, with a 4mm ep and a 2x BArlow, you are almost certainly giving the scope more magnification than it can handle. Anything you get in your FOV at such a high magnification will have to be recentred every few seconds as the apparent motion of the skies is much enhanced. (I am assuming you don't have a motorized mount.)

You say you can see stars sharply, but can you see them sharply with that combination of Barlow and ep? The quality of your 4mm ep may come into question here.

Have a go again tonight with the 4mm alone, and compare to the views in a longer ep. That may answer some questions for you.

Good wishes for your new hobby.