Barlow or another EP?

Hello all,

i am new in here and new to astronomy, just got my first scope about 2 weeks ago.

its a fairly old skywatcher refractor 910mm x 90mm it doesnt say what model it is and it is blue (that make its f/10 as far as i understand) on an equatorial mount (still struggling with it abit) it is quite old but i beleive it an eq2

thanks to the few recent clear skies, i started learning how to use my new telescope in my garden in greater london and i was trying my newly accuired EP's which are : Meade 4000 super Plossl 32mm,15mm,6.4mm and also a SWA 17mm which i found to be very comfortable for centering objects after finding them with the 32mm.

(altogether, the EP's cost me more than the scope...)

i was doing some basic planetary observing hoping to spot the rings of saturn yesterday (as i saw during baker street irregular astronomers meet from a very nice tele vue 5mm EP that was kindly borrowed to me) but unfortunately even with the 6.4mm (which should give a x142 magnification?) i was not able to see them.

my question is : how is it possible to spot the rings of saturn or some more detail on mars with my setup? would it be better to purchase a x2 Barlow? if yes, then which brand would you recommend? or would i be better of getting a 5mm or a 3.5mm EP (would i even see something through a 3.5?) and if the better choice is to get another EP, how much would the FOV influence the choice of eyepiece?

from reading this forum i understood that baader hyperion are very good EP's and they are not too expensive in comparison to the quality they offer.

from reading some posts i understood that barlows are not very good because you loose detail when they are used, but are they ok for planet?

i am planning to get into the other objects such as galaxies and nebulas, but i am afraid that i might need a reflector for that and to go somewhere where there is less light pollution. but it would be great to try spotting them with my refractor.