SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Newbie frustration

I'm completely new to this hobby and have recently bought a Skywatcher Explorer 130 as my beginner's telescope.

Tonight was quite clear with a good view of the stars and also Venus and Jupiter.

Now I could see Venus through the Super 25 eyepiece but when I focused in, all I could see was the planet as I would see it with my own eyes, is this something to be expected of with this level of scope?

If I unfocused it, the secondary mirror came into view and I have no idea if this is normal.

Any help woud be really appreciated

It's because your using the 25mm eye piece. That's for wide field viewing of stars and galaxies. If you get yourself a 10-6mm or a 10mm with a x2 barlow, you should get some nice detail on Saturn and Jupiter. The lower the eyepiece number, the stronger the magnification. But remember, anything over a 200x magnification will be pushing it with your 130mm aperture. Also what detail you see depends alot on atmospheric conditions.

Thanks for replying.

I have both the 10mm and the Barlow lens.

I did try both in combination but saw aa big black nothing.

Would that just be down to the Finderscope not being correctly aimed?

Most likely. When you increase the magnification, you lower your field of vision alot. They get easier to locate with practice. Also, with a barlow attached, you will lose some lightness in the object. you should still be able to see it with a 10mm and a barlow. just may have been a poor seeing night. Poor seeing conditions can happen even on a seemingly clear night.