SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

New to stargazing

Hello, I'm very new to stargazing, i just brought a pair of celestron upclose 10x50 binoculars, received them monday, i had read reviews on them and people have said that i would be able to see jupiters moons .. but i had a look tonight and i could barely see anything.

I am thinking of buying a pair of celestron 20x50 binoculars I'm not sure yet, Idearly i would like to be able to see all the planets in small detail.

Could anyone give me some advice ?

• Replies 59
  • Created
  • Last Reply

You can generally pick out Jupiters Galilean moons with 10x50 bins - depending of course that they are not behind the planet! However, I've tried the last few days and have been completely unable to. Might just be me though, I find it very hard holding them still for very long!

Oh, I was trying for a long time tonight but i couldnt see anything atall, I would really like to be able to see the planets in detail, but doubt i will be able to with 10x50s ?

I was going to but a 50mm telescope from argos, just a childrens first time one, but im guessing the binoculars are stronger ?

Oh okay then, what should i be able to see clearly with 10x50 binoculars ?

Also what would you say would be the best pair of binoculars for me to purchase (fairly cheap) that would allow me to see most planets in detail and saturns rings faintly ?

Thanks, I'll take a look at that website in the morning

Am I better off buying a telescope if I want to look at galaxies and planets in detail ?

Also do you know of any basic websites that could tell me where to look at what time to see planets/galaxies

Probably the best visual aid is a software planetarium called Stellarium http://www.stellarium.org. It's really very good, and what's more, is free!