Narrowband

Mermaid

JawD

Huh? Why Mermaid? Well, in my quest to be different I just couldnt bring myself to write "hello" or "im new". I happen to have a wooden mermaid (another story) on my window ledge in this room and it's the first thing I looked at when thinking of a thread title.

So, that aside, I'm new! yeah, I could have just said that buy being that this post is in here then... woooaaah hang on. I've gone off on one a bit havent I?

Ok, starting over...

I'm a bit of a photographer (for fun, not work) and shoot with a Nikon D7000. While I enjoy many types of photographing, landscape and nature has been my preference. I like being outdoors. With my job I drive around a bit and the camera often sits in my car boot. Now and again I'll pull over and grab an image. When the dark evenings are around, I find myself pulling over and just staring at the sky. I love the escapism. I could sit and stare all night. As I drive places like the A66 over the hills there is little light pollution and the views are stunning.

Anyway, with my DSLR I have taken many of the standard moon shots and some star trails with longer exposures. I have had a desire though to step in to astrophotography. It just seems the natural progression.

So that in turn brought me here. Hello!

Gear wise I'm resisting the tempation to jump in face first but I do have my eye on *this*

With my 40th (yeah ok, there I said it....) coming up soon my wife has promised me a treat and this could be it. I'm still researching this though so we'll see.

Before that though after reading other advice, my next purchase may actually be *these* - again, any input in to that is welcome.

So, other than that, some useless info about me is that I live just outside of Durham, married, 2 kids, run own unrelated business and I turn 40 in oh.... 2 weeks :)

There we go :hello2:

• Replies 27
  • Created
  • Last Reply