SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

What went wrong

phodso

Hi all having spent most of last night and the wee hours of this morning getting this data was slightly dissapointed with the results.

It is a stacked image of countless 2 minute exposures. Darks, bias and flats taken. (Although not overly sure how to take flats).

It was also my first attempt at guiding.

All comments and recommendations are appreciated as I am new to this imaging nightmare.

post-28528-1338777454_thumb.jpg

I fear flats may be the problem here... The best way for us to help you is to post a flat and a raw sub image. For flats, I'll give you a trick. The best way to acquire flats is to use a "flat screen" which can be expensive or a light box which you can make yourself if you have DIY skills.

Now, I you have none of that, at dusk, or dawn, aim your setup at the pale blue sky overhead, and adjust your exposure so that the resulting flats have the proper intensity. Now if you are acquiring color images with DSLR, remember to acquire them in black and white, because using blue flats, will affect the final colour or your image.

I do this with an OSC CCD caméra on C14 EdgeHD and it works quite well for me. You can read a post here:

Using a large format color CCD camera | Amateur Astronomy

It talks about colo CCD postprocessing and flats, but I think some of it might apply to DSLR as well.

In any case, I think you're getting alot of vignetting, it might be worth it looking closely at your setup as to what is causing this.

Regards

Serge

Managed to open the flat eventually.

I suspect you are right about this. Having looked at it I would have expected a circulare gradient getting darker towards the corners.

I assume this is over exposed.

They were taken at about 3am using the t-shirt method at the same exposure time as the lights.

If what I am saying is right then is there an idiots guide to flats?

post-28528-133877745428_thumb.jpg