Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Open university

• Replies 55
  • Created
  • Last Reply
  • 2 weeks later...

Ah excellent! I'm halfway through S283, and I intend to pick up either S282 or SXP288 in 2013.

I must admit, I'm concerned that I struggled with the Chemistry aspect of things. Molecules and whatnot have never been my strong point. Im just hoping I can power through and not let it drag everything else down too much.

On the subject of SXP288, whats the costing like for the residential in Majorca? As that is definitely the route I would opt to take, it just seems more worthwhile.

Hi IainMcD

Hoping to register for this years S10 (S282, S283)

I've had a look at the guide "Are you ready for S282" and feel comfortable with it.

my background is electrical & electronic eng where I covered the maths and some physics, although it was a while back.

Do you have a similar / engineering / numerate background ?

The reason for asking is that many people post an opinion of these courses but don't give clues as to their school / college background and it's difficult to gauge / compare their experience with how I might find it.

Cheers

This is more of a big career change for me. I have a an IT Degree, and I was previously employed by the Navy in the Communications/Signals branch.

My only science background comes from GCSE/A Level Physics and reading a ton of books. Hawkings, Cox etc

The maths in S282 I found pretty reasonable, mostly algebra. No calculus as such, but a bit of knowledge of equation rearranging and use of logs is good.

S283 is a lot easier on the maths, and focuses a bit more on geological process, a little bit of chemistry and biology.