Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Problems viewing planets with my new reflector telescope

Hi my name is Dan and I'm new to astronomy. I have recently purchased a Skywatcher skyhawk 1145p synscan telescope and am having problems viewing planets. Please could someone help!

I have seen the moon clearly through the scope at x100 magnification, but as soon as I try and locate a planet all I see is a small bright dot. When I change the focus the dot gets larger but goes black in the centre and has (I think) three lines coming out of the centre. It looks to me like the inside of the telescope.

What am I doing wrong? How can I fix this?

Ps I have tried looking at the planet through x20 x 40 x50 and x 100 and still get the same effect. Any help would be much appreciated. Thanks

• Replies 39
  • Created
  • Last Reply

hi there , you adjust the focus on the planets till the object ( ie jupiter) appers really sharp . you will be able to see three or four moons , if you see the dark spot when focusing you have went far to far the wrong way .

which planet (s) were you trying to observe

the focuser is not a zoom ... i take it you know that

mars will look just like a smaal white dot in a small scope just now

Hi, thanks for you reply.

I have observed Jupiter, Saturn and Venus before through a scope. So I'm not a complete bigger in terms of knowing what sort of size things should appear. The dot I'm getting is just a pinpoint of light (same as a star through normal vision) no matter how slow I focus it, it slowly gets bigger and the centre fills out as black with spokes coming out of it. Tonight I tried Venus.