Stargazers Lounge Uses Cookies

Like most websites, SGL uses cookies in order to deliver a secure, personalised service, to provide social media functions and to analyse our traffic. Continued use of SGL indicates your acceptance of our cookie policy.

sgl_imaging_challenge_banner_solar_25_winners.thumb.jpg.fe4e711c64054f3c9486c752d0bcd6f2.jpg

will5098

Newtonian V Dobsonian

Hi all,

On a previous thread it had been suggested to me that a Skywatcher 150 Dobsonian would be my best option as a starter scope for £200 - which looks good.

Howevr, I have spotted the Newtonian SKYWATCHER EXPLORER-150 TELESCOPE costing £270 - Being an amateur, i'm not sure what the key differences are (looks aside) - is it just the tripod? what would the extra £70 give me and would it be worth it?:D

Any useful advice would be much appreciated (I suspect a dealer would reccomend the more expensive option!)...:)

Thanks

Hi Will and welcome to the forum.

A Newtonian telescope is a Newtonian telescope and all will be broadly the same. What makes the difference as you alude to, is the mount.

generally, a Newtonian mounted on a basic wooden alt-azimuth mount (i.e. one that moves left right / up down) is referred to as a Dobsonian, after the inventor of this sort of design, John Dobson.

In terms of tripod mounted telescopes, there is one main type for astro use and this with an equatorial mount (sometimes referred to as an EQ mount or a German Equatorial Mount (GEM)).

On a tripod you can also have an alt-azimuth mount but these are less common and more expensive sometimes for a devent one. I have one like this called a GIRO II.

I find dobsonian mounts if well made (like the Skywatcher one is) provide a very easy to use, intuitive and stable platform for a telescope. This is by far my most favoured mount for visual use with Newtonians. There is no set up, you just put the scope on the ground and after cooling/collimation use it.