Stargazers Lounge Uses Cookies

Like most websites, SGL uses cookies in order to deliver a secure, personalised service, to provide social media functions and to analyse our traffic. Continued use of SGL indicates your acceptance of our cookie policy.

sgl_imaging_challenge_banner_dslr_mirrorlesss_winners.thumb.jpg.9deb4a8db27e7485a7bb99d98667c94e.jpg

will5098

I want a darn telescope!

Hi everyone,

I am relatively new to serious astronomy, always had an interest and can pick out objects with naked eye, but now want a scope. However, it pains me to read thread after thread of 'experts' suggesting binoculars.... I want a darn telescope!!!

In terms of a purchase I am considering a Celestron Astromaster 130eq (despite horror stories re the spotter) or a TS Optics Megastar 150mm. To my despair it seems that the correct practice would be to spend that money (£200) on some binoculars.....really?:D

I want to see Saturns rings, craters on the moon, deep space objects, sun spots etc - can this stuff be seen with binos?

Not sure what to do now, advice would be well received - I wonder if there are others out there that went straight into a scope? - If so would be great to here your thoughts... I wonder what actual proportion of amateurs start with the bino approach?

Cheers everyone:icon_salut:

If your budget was £100 or less then binoculars can be a better option than the sort of scopes you get for that but with £200 you can get something like this, which will show you all the items you list (special filter needed for the sun though):

First Light Optics - Skywatcher Skyliner 150P Dobsonian

No frills but great optics (which is what counts !) and a very popular scope on SGL.

Hope that helps and welcome to the forum !.

Edited by John

Hi and welcome,

Whichever way you decide to go, you have come to the right place for advice on both aspects, bino's and scopes.