Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

IR/UV Filter or not?

christo

Hi all,

I'm just getting into modified webcam imaging and starting to accumulate the necessary equipment. I am looking for opinions on the necessity of using IR/UV filters when imaging. I've been looking around and some people argue that they are wholly necessary and some are of the opinion that they are maybe not so necessary. Also if I should get one any suggestions on which one in particular?

Cheers folks,

Chris

They are useful, but not absolutely necessary. If you don't have one its not going to stop you getting some kind of image of planets. If you are doing long exposure DSO stuff then I'd go for a Neodymium or CLS filter first. I never use an IR/UV block filter for DSOs, maybe I should?

There are other opinions to follow shortly, I'm sure, but if you have a camera, no filter, and a clear sky, go for it!

Kaptain Klevtsov

I use IR cut filter. It seems to improve an image. One possitive effect I have noticed is that the blue and red colour you get on the top and bottom of a picture is much less apparent and your final RGB allignments in Registax will be less required IMHO.

Martin :wink:

Did a with/without test on mine a couple of years back

using M42 as a target.

With the filter in, the stars were much less bloated looking.

A definite improvement in the focus of objects.

Dont fully understand why, but it was proof that one is handy

to have

HTH :wink:

Chris

As I understand it, most CCDs are sensitive to IR, and if not filtered, it can affect to colour of the image produced. I'm not sure whether or not the also applies to CMOS sensors.

I have an IR filter fitted to both my SXVF-H9C, and DSI, but don't bother using them on the LPI or SPC900NC, as these are only using for Lunar/Planetary work.

Starlight Express, recommend that an IR filter is used with their SX cameras.

As for the make, you won't go far wrong with Baader, Lumicon or Astronomik.

Dave

Hi Helen