Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Helios stellar 11x80 Bins

Hawksmoor

Have had the above bins for a number of years. Never noticed before that the exit image on both eyepieces is clipped (rather than perfect circles). Views through the bins seem fine although not as bright as when first purchased.(I've put this down to my age rather than any short coming in the bins, in my 60's I don't suspect my eyes can hand a 7mm exit pupil). Should I be trying to adjust the binoculars? Is this something I could do (I noticed there are two screws that are accessible)? I'm no expert so thought I would seek advice before doing something with a screwdriver that I might quickly regret!

thanks in anticipation George (AKA Hawksmoor)

Have had the above bins for a number of years. Never noticed before that the exit image on both eyepieces is clipped (rather than perfect circles). Views through the bins seem fine although not as bright as when first purchased.(I've put this down to my age rather than any short coming in the bins, in my 60's I don't suspect my eyes can hand a 7mm exit pupil). Should I be trying to adjust the binoculars? Is this something I could do (I noticed there are two screws that are accessible)? I'm no expert so thought I would seek advice before doing something with a screwdriver that I might quickly regret!

thanks in anticipation George (AKA Hawksmoor)

Assuming we are talking a sort of diamond shape, then I understand this points to undersize prisms being used (cost/corner cutting by manufacturer).

It all depends on how badly this affects you I suppose; My Oly's have this "feature", and I feel like there is something like an eyebrow, or part of my eyelid interfering very slightly at the edges of my field of view. It's worse/more noticed in day light than with astro use.

For my part given what I paid for them I can live with it, as replacing them at this price (£50) is not going to be easy, and probably not all that possible.