Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Why do fast scopes need high quality eyepieces?

Andymarrison

Could any of you guys explain to a newbie like me why a fast scope demands a higher quality eyepiece than a scope with a higher focal ratio, which is something I've read a number of times? What is it about a fast scope that puts extra demands on the optics of the eyepiece?:icon_scratch:

I'm not an optics expert, but basically a 'fast' scope, that is one with a low focal ratio like F4 or F5 produces a shorter and steeper light cone.

This means that the light passes through the eyepiece at a steeper angle than with a slow scope, and that steep angle is more likely to smear out the image, especially towards the edge of the field of view.

Eyepiece manufacturers can design multi - element eyepieces to help correct this. That's why such eyepieces cost more, and are larger and heavier.

Regards, Ed.

Any sort of optical defect and aberration will be easier to hide with a more elongated light cone, where the angle of refraction isn't that high. Let's take chromatic aberration for example. It happens on refractors, especially achromats, because each wavelength refracts at a slightly different angle when it hits the lens. Different spectrums then focus at different points, resulting in a purple / green halo around brighter objects, etc. Now, the steeper the light cone, the bigger difference between the focal points of different spectrums, resulting in a bigger offset / larger halos when you observe. With a long focal length / slower scope the angle of refraction isn't high anyway, and the differences are less noticeable. This is why a lot of old refractors were built at pretty long focal lengths.

Of course, CA is just one example - the "steepness" of the light cone has an effect on other types of optical aberrations as well.