SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Advice wanted for complete novice..

Hi, I would really like some advice on what telescope to buy...

What I would like to do is get a telescope to do the following:-

View the moon / planets, but also to be able to connect my Nikon D5000 to take pictures of moon / planets and DSO's.

But on top of that I would like a telescope that is transportable so I can take it with me when I go camping....

I have been looking at the Skymax 127 (either supa tracker, or AZ sync)... Would this be suitable for viewing and photography or will the mounts be too unstable for long exposure shots??

My budget is up to £500

I am a complete novice and am now completely confussed by all the different mount telescope types :)

Any advice / recomendations greatly recieved....

Cheers

hi hawkeye and welcome. not into astro photography so cant help you there but some great peeps on here that will advise you. as for transportable set ups for visual use the scope you mentioned is a great starter kit and will serve you well for a while to come. hope this helps.

Welcome Hawkeye, have you checked out the sticky threads at the top of this sub-forum?

I think what you will quickly find is that you will need a different set up for shooting planets and the moon as you would for shooting DSO's.

Generally speaking planets and the moon are relatively bright objects but (ignoring the moon) very small. A webcam is useful for this work where you take a series of videos and stack to create an image. For DSO work you will need aperture as objects are very dim. Here is where you will need a sturdy, high quality mount that tracks, and a different camera set up i.e. DSLR or dedicated CCD. The later set up for DSO works can rapidly become less and less portable.