Stargazers Lounge Uses Cookies

Like most websites, SGL uses cookies in order to deliver a secure, personalised service, to provide social media functions and to analyse our traffic. Continued use of SGL indicates your acceptance of our cookie policy.

sgl_imaging_challenge_banner_terminator_challenge_winners.thumb.jpg.6becf44442bc7105be59da91b2bee295.jpg

JimRymer

Hello can anyone help?

Hello, I am very new to astronomy but always loved it as a kid now later on in life, and with a bit more time on my hands, I have rekindled this interest. My wife has purchased a beginers telescope a Celestron LCM60 with Go to Nexstar which is good for looking at the moon but of little use for other objects as it is not powerful enough . I would love to develop this interest and to get a better telescope can anyone advisise me. The internet is awash with options and I am a bit at sea as to what to get next. I am delighted to have re-egnited this passion, and its great to be amoung like minded people.Thanks for any help offered

regards

Jim R. :)

Skyliner Dobsonion 200 if you can afford it, 150 will do if budget is stretched.

Hi Jim, welcome to SGL :)

The answer to your question will depend on your budget, and what your requirements are from a scope. As Tiddles says, the 200p or 150P are both good starter scopes. With the Dob versions, you have to guide them yourself by nudging them about, but they are the cheapest way of getting good aperture. Have you also considered portability? Do you need to travel to dark sky sites, or are you Ok in your back garden?

Also, have you seen any scopes you like the look of, or done any research? Do you want an all round scope, or are you more interested in lunar & planetary viewing or DSO's?

CW

Hi Jim... & welcome to the forum

this mount can take some of the other celestron 'scopes... but check before buying