SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Suitable bins for under £70?

sevs23

Hi

I'm looking for a new pair of bins for anything under £70. I have a pair of Soviet made 12x40's, but these are rather precious to me so I'd like a new pair for casual star gazing.

I've has Celestron 15x70's but they're too big & heavy

Something like 10x50's...Any recommendations?

THxs

Steve

• Replies 46
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I spent a little more (£105) on a pair of Bushnell Legend 8 x 42 Porro Prism bins and love them, they are light enough to hold up with one hand and give excellent sharp bright views, and are very well armoured.

It looks like these are no longer available, I would guess their replacement might be these: BUSHNELL H2O 8X42 PORRO BINOCULARS: Amazon.co.uk: Electronics but I have no knowledge of this particular pair.

I wouldn't normally comment in threads like this but FLO doesn't offer binoculars at around £50 so hopefully people will accept this advice as neutral and objective.

I don't understand why the Olympus 10x50 DPS-I is getting so much positive attention. It sells for around £50. Checking the specs at the manufacturer's website it appears to be a straightforward 10x50 binocular with mono-coated optics and, probably, Bk-7 prisms. Looking at the wording it would also appear not all air-glass surfaces benefit from the single layer of anti-reflection coating.

Olympus - 10x50 DPS I

You can do better.

For example, the Helios Fieldmaster 10x50 selling for £47 from Harrison Telescopes (one of our competitors).

Helios Fieldmaster 10x50 Binocular

It offers fully multicoated optics and Bak-4 prisms.

I know which one I'd choose :D

Hope that helps,

Steve

I'd have to agree with Steve on this. I feel that BaK-4 prisms and FMC optics are highly desirable and quite attainable even at a modest budget if you look around.

Take a look at this guide by Alan MacRobert of Sky & Telescope magazine: