Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

2" Eyepiece and Filters...Learning Curve!

Dan Watts

Hey all,

I am really stuck i'll be honest...

As you can see on my signature my equipment line-up...I would really like to start looking at DSO's and Nebulas (with the purchase of a UHC filter).

My first issue is I am still learning with eyepieces etc...I would like to see nice views of these DSO's but not sure whether the EP's I have would allow this (fieldview etc) and i'm thinking the 25mm is not wide enough and the 35mm is not powerful enough...Do you reckon it would pay to own something in the middle maybe...I like the look of the Skywatcher Panaview 2" Eyepieces...maybe even the Nirvana 28mm but I think my scope would tip over!! lol.

The second issue and one I have been pondering for ages is whether to invest in a 1-1/2" or 2" UHC/O-III filter on this basis...Being that I want to see nebulas and the fact you don't want too much zoom, i'm edging towards 2", do you have any thoughts? Being that I can also use a 2" thread on my Baader Zoom along with the fixed focal 2" EP's.

Sorry for the barrage of info, I would just like some thoughts if possible.

Thank you so much :)

Dan.

If you plan to own a 2" eyepiece to view deep sky objects then a 2" filter is the way to go. There are lighter 2" eyepieces than the 28mm Nirvana but they don't offer such a massive field of view. The Panaview 32mm and the Aero ED 30mm (particularly the latter) are decent eyepieces and lighter.

If you do go for the 28mm Nirvana you may need to add some counterweighting to the bottom of your scope tube to help with balance. The views though these ultra-wide eyepieces are superb though :)

Hi Dan... in an 8inch I would go for the UHC filter...I would also go 2inch as this can be threaded onto your focus adapter, so you can change eyepieces without keep taking the filter off... I tried the 1.25inch OIII in a 200 skywatcher & it was ermmm french-omelette...crape.