Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Hi to everyone

jmoloney

Just like to say hello to everyone here, i've just joined up today and i'm looking forward to learning all I can.

I've not decided which scope to go for just yet,to be honest it's turning out to be harder than I thought it was going to be and now my brain feels numb.....I'm sure you've all been through this before and understand my plight.

I'll get there eventually.

James

• Replies 25
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hi there I was in exactly your position a month ago, didn't know one end of a scope from the other, Dobs, Newtonian, EQ, it was all gobbledegook to me, but I asked questions, read posts and listened to advice.

I'm still a beginner, but now I have a decent scope and bags of enthusiasm and I'll never stop pestering these guys for answers.

They're a good bunch who'll try and steer you on the right path, so don't rush in, have a read around and you won't go far wrong.

Welcome along and enjoy:)

Welcome to the forum. Im also new to this, I started off with a pair of bins and I can recommend a couple of books for you:

The Practical Astronomer

Turn Left At Orion

Good luck and clear skies.

Hi James,

Welcome to the Stargazers Lounge forums.

Here's my comprehensive intro for beginners.

As goes buying equipment take your time, be patient you don't need any equipment to start out in this hobby, your own eyes are the main tool. Many wise people start out with binoculars to get a feel for the hobby, and to learn their way around the sky before buying an expensive telescope. Meet up with other observers if you can and try out a variety of different types of equipment, there might be an SGL observers group close to you, or else locate your nearest Astro society.