Narrowband

Caravans

Starhoparfa

Being a newbie I'm just wondering what people from the burbs do to get to dark sky sites. Living in the West Midlands, the closest really dark sky sites for me seem to be in the West Shropshire and mid Wales areas.

It struck me that caravan holidays might be a good way to observe in some comfort (whether tourer or static.) If a quiet caravan site is selected such as one of those types which doesn't have too many on site facilities then a night on the balcony or at the edge of an awning with a glass or two seems like an ideal way to enjoy the skies.

Not got my own caravan at the moment but it might be a good way of combining some great family holidays and weekend breaks with astronomy.

Any thoughts/experiences?

hi i went on a caravan (one of those static ones) holidays with the mrs and friends last year down in brixham devon, the sky was amazing at night the site was dark where the caravan was and their was no light pollution looking south we were right up on a cliff by the sea cant think what the site was called i know it was a john fowler one the only down side i took the fishing gear instead of my scope and caught nothing......

Sounds like a pretty good idea to me.

You could load all the usual holiday gear in the caravan, keeping the back of the motor free for your scope.:(

Static caravans would seem to offer no benefit as the car would still be full of holiday gear, with little room for your scope.:o

Regards Steve

Camping using caravans and tents is the standard way star parties are organised. Often theres an arrangement with the site owners to totally take over a campsite and a deal arranged for a full astronomy week or weekend. The one we go to at Kelling Heath even black out all the loo block lights and put regular campers in another field shielded from the dark fields.