SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Checking collimation in a SCT?

LukeSkywatcher

Collimation is not something i do often. I have done it once on my Heritage 130P since i bought it and it is still holding firm.

Now i am just wondering if anyone can tell me how to check it on a SCT?

Basically all i am looking for is either an image or a description of what an out of focus star should look like in a well collimated SCT (call it a star test).

Last night when i was observing i could focus the scope on any star and it was pinpoint sharp. When i defocused on the same star it was round with a dark shadow in the dead centre (the secondary mirror?).

Is this what i should be seeing?

I just want to know. I have no reason to think the collimation is out on the scope because it was packaged so well for transit. The views are amazing.

I'm new to SCT's so this is why i ask.

Is there something different i should be looking for in the collimation of an SCT compared to a reflector?

Thanks

Paul

• Replies 28
  • Created
  • Last Reply

They do hold it well Paul, the amount of times I have moved the 925 over the years shows how well it does hold. I have not seen a drop in performance after all this time, no doubt it could do with a slight tweak but I would rather leave it until it does definitely need collimation. I did ask about this when I first bought it..the answer given was just leave it :o:(

I now understand what the guy meant :p

I used to defocus mine and then adjust it to make sure i could see evenly spaced concentric rings either side of focus.

I've read time and time again that this is how a well collimated scope will show an out of focus star. Honestly i dont know if it is my eyesight or my scopes are woefully under collimated but out of focus stars to me never have concentric rings either side of focus. The simply appear as big round circles with a dark spot dead centre (the secondary mirror).