Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

STEMNET

sanmatt

Are any of you folks STEM ambassadors? I'm an NHS Healthcare Science ambassador so nowt to do with astronomy, mines biomedicine/pathology. But I often see requests from schools for astronomers or speakers. And I thought of you.

Have a look on www.stemnet.org.uk see if it's your thing. They only ask that you give one day per year, but you can do as much as you llike. And you dont need to be a teacher or a professor of any sort. In fact they call for anyone who has interest and passion for their subjects.

I try to do an event/activity every month, for me I can submit it to the IBMS and claim CPD credits but I also enjoy working with the kids on subjects close to my heart.

Yes,

I'm a STEM ambassador for the North East region. It's great fun and very rewarding. I'm not a professional astronomer but can still offer a certain level of knowledge in the subject which teachers seem to appreciate.

If you have some spare time and want to do something for your locally community in an astronomically related subject then I would definitely recommend STEMnet. They will look after most of the admin leaving you just to do what you enjoy (talking about the stars).

Graham

• 2 weeks later...

I've just joined too. In fact my CRB approval came through this morning :) I did the induction training last week, which in itself was fun. Our project was about going to Mars, building a Mars rover (I nearly lost a couple of fingers when our propellor launched itself off the back of our buggy :)), UV light protection and a biosphere.

I'm looking forward to getting more involved.

Helen

• 2 years later...

I'm a STEM Ambassador for South Lanarkshire.  Will give talks on general astronomy to public groups and schools and to Astronomical Societies on Solar Observing.  Prefer to stick to Scotland unless someone can put up the dog as well as me :grin:

• 1 month later...

Are any of you folks STEM ambassadors?