Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

1st attempt at Orion Nebula

drumsolo

Hi Everyone,

I appreciate this has been imaged so much by others that are much more capable than myself at the moment and have produced really magnificent images. This is my very first attempt at Orion, its a stack of around 20 x 1 min and 10 x 30 sec at ISO400 with dark frames subtracted. I am still struggling with post processing in Photoshop CS5 especially with bringing out colours. I would very much appreciate comments and pointers with my processing.

Thanks for looking

post-24534-133877712213_thumb.jpg

That's really quite nice... it's a great object for getting to grips with DSO imaging!

A few things to try...

1: Obviously framing isn't quite right... the running man is running off the top of the page a little :-) That's a nice easy fix though for next time.

2: Focus is a little off... get a Bahtinov mask... best thing I ever bought! They really are critical for this sort of thing.

3: There seems to be a bit of a wierd halo thing going on in the middle of the image... not sure what that's from... however I've had a play and removed some of it by creating a flat from the original image and subtracting it from the image... a good tutorial on this (mainly for removing gradients) here: Gradient Removal

4: If you clip in the black a little more and push the levels up a tad there's a bit more data to be had.... I also added in a reduced brightness layer for the core to keep that under control whilst boosting the outer bits of the nebula...

Here's a rough stab at improving it a little based on what you have... it's not great, pleanty more people here are WAY better at processing than me and could almost certainly do far better :-)

post-23494-133877712222_thumb.jpg

Great first pic though, keep it coming!

Ben