Narrowband

Skywatcher Skyliner 200P Dobsonian - any opinions / advice?

Hi everyone and a very Happy New Year!

I hope I could get some opinions and/or advice on buying my first proper telescope. I am new to Stargazers Lounge and relatively new to astronomy. I use to have simple Tasco refracting telelscope when I very young...saw the moon and that's about it! Now a lot older, I have more knowledge about physics & astronomy and have much more of an appreciation for everything around us.

For my first telescope, I am very interested in the Skywatcher Skyliner 200P Dobsonian. I have read lots of very helpful posts and reviews online about this particular telescope especially given the price.

I am reaching the point of purchasing one of these within the next week or so, and I was just wondering if anyone had other suggestions for my first scope.

My budget is £300 max., and I want a good all rounder scope for viewing mainly. Although, I would like to start on some planetary astrophotography with my DSLR soon after. However viewing is my main priority because if I decide astrophotography is for me, I would prefer to buy a proper setup with a motorised EQ mount in the future when I know its something I enjoy. Also, the size of the 8inch Dob is not an issue for me.

I would be so grateful if anyone has any opinions about my choice of the skyliner 200P, or if other alternatives are out there which are worth thinking about, considering my needs and budget.

Also, do many stores online have these telescopes actually in stock ready to dispatch? I called one online retailer and they said they get them from a distributor so delivery will take longer. I was just wondering if anyone knew if FLO usually have them in stock or if there is a longer delivery for this telescope.

Anyway, sorry for such a long post, I am new to this so please forgive me!

Thank you, and happy new year to all!

Alex.

• Replies 25
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hello Alex and welcome to SGL.