SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Newbie needing telescope advice please :)

So basically, I'm into my photography :p I have a Canon 7D, and have recently become quite facinated by astrophotography ( I was before but I couldn't afford a telescope )

My situation has changed now to the point where I can afford one, and would greatly appreciate some advice on a telescope that isn't too complicated but at the same time can be great for deep space viewing and astrophotography :icon_salut: I'd say my budget is around £250-300 but anything below this will obviously be great as I'm a student and every little helps!

I've had a look at a couple of explorers but past focal length, F stops & magnification my knowledge hits a wall and I don't know what they're talking about :confused:

Thanks for any help!

Hi Tazni, welcome to SGL

The usual advice for beginner is to avoid astrophotography. Astrophotography with a DSLR requires accurate tracking for long exposure. The minimum mount for that is an HEQ5 which is outside your budget. The EQ5 and EQ3-2 that come with a lot of the SW Explorer models are not good enough.

If you have a budget of £250 - 300 and your interest is viewing DSO, I would recommend a Skywatcher 200p dob. It's visual only, but best value for money.

First Light Optics - Skywatcher Skyliner 200P Dobsonian

If you are a student, consider joining your university/college's astronomical society. They may have some equipment for loan.

It will also help if you state your location. People local to your area may be able to give you more specific advice.

Tazni, welcome to the forum.

I have to echo Keith's comments. Also as you are seriously into photography you'll understand that to get the results you are after you need to buy equipment near the top of range. Your 7D retails for around £1000 and no doubt you have a few lenses which may of cost upwards of the same amount. This equally applies to telescopes.