Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Help yy wife bought me a How Cool is that Telescience Telescope

My wife has bought me a how cool is that tele science telescope, and I need some advice, I keep seeing shadow images, could it be the lense or thje agle mirror, Also when I use the Barlow lense that is supplied I cant see anything, Am I doing something wrong or are the lenses broke.

I am a beginner with no knowlegde of how to use a telescope,which is why she brought me such a basic one.

Any advice would be appreicated.

Thanks

You may be able to get a look at the moon with it but in honesty, for £50 from Tesco I doubt you'll find many people here familiar with that model. I'd suggest trying to focus it without the 3x barlow initially as that will complicate things.

It's advertised as a kids telescope - a "real" telescope would cost in the region of £150 for even a basic model. I'd suggest getting a refund and putting in the extra for something like a Skywatcher 130 if you want a good start in the hobby. Sorry to have to be a bit frank about it :D

First Light Optics - Skywatcher Explorer 130

Hi,

You may not have your telescope in focus. To achieve focus, you need to turn the focus knob until the image becomes sharp.

What exactly do you mean by shadow images? Just as a check, are using your telescope indoors, and looking through a window, because that can cause all sorts of distortions of the image.

Clear Skies,

Luke

Working on the basis that you cannot return it without divorce proceedings being instigated, it really sounds as if the scope is way out of focus.

Get it outside, if dry and reasonable clear.

Point it at something big and in the distance - mile or two.

Put in the eyepiece with the longest/highest number on it in the scope.

Move the focus until you see something.