Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Immersion in other worlds

Captain Caveman

I'm very new to this stargazing lark but really enjoyed the clear cold nights of last week with naked eye and small bins. I hope that this is a hobby that will last for a long time to come.

It has struck me that gazing/astronomy is an immersive hobby that has some comparisons with some of my previous activities: SCUBA diving and high altitude walking/climbing

With stargazing you need not actually go to a different location, but on a good night, you can be transported from our humble earth and feel like we are just standing on a viewing platform in our huge cosmos. The change in thinking that occurs is similar to be 30m underwater and finding yourself in a new world, goverened by new rules on nitrogen narcosis and restricted by decompression guidelines. The same goes for going to altitude in that you can't go up too quick and have to wait for physiological changes to occur - a bit like the dark adaptation

When gazing there seem to be "new rules" like not having other lights around and other ways of optimizing viewing

With the mountains and sea you are physically transported to a new environment with different rules, but with the stars you transport yourself to a new place, that everyone else seems oblivious too

It feels like the world is a different place when observing the skies and puts the rest of life on this planet into a new perspective, as can the other activities I described

Just thought I'd share a bit of navel gazing, and hope that I continue to enjoy this new hobby

Clear skies!!!

Nice thoughts. When i observe i get lost in both time and space. Hours pass by in the blink of an eye. For me its not so much about what i am seeing. That is a small part of it. For me its more about how big,far away things are and how small and insignificant our little blue marble is in the grand scheme of things.