SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Orion

Well, it finally happened...I've had a straight up, real time WOW experience.

Late last night/early this morning,(02:20 to be precise) whilst waiting for the boxing to start (Froch got a boxing lesson for those interested).

I went outside for a smoke and took the bino's with me (celestron 20x80), I'm very new to astronomy so the few stars I know I tend to stick to whilst learning. Anyway it was a very clear sky and Orion was very bright. As I "swooped" my bino's up towards the Belt something caught my eye, I retraced my path, and gasped as Orion's Nebula sat there staring straight back at me...for a second I considered waking the wife up just so I could retrive my tripod from the bedroom, but decided against it as I'd like to at least see the year out.

Anyone who has held a pair of 20x80's will know what happened next.

That's right, first the arms start to shake, then you bend your knees as if that will somehow stop your arms from shaking, then you lean against anything solid, all the time keeping (or trying too) the bino's up to your eyes. It's not long before you're in the fetal position making tiny whimpering sounds as every last ounce of strength drains from you.

And as I dragged my ravaged body back into the house, completely spent...I had the biggest grin on my face I'd had all year...I saw Orion's Nebula...and it was WOW!

The 1st glimpse of M42 is a great experience !

Just wait until you see it with a scope !

I think the nebula is to be found in what's termed the "sword" of Orion - this does look to the naked eye like 3 star groupings that form a line downwards and at an angle from the 3 belt stars.

I originally was going to get a scope, but after reading on here that it was better to start with bino's i went that way. Soooo glad I did, if i'd had a scope I would not have taken it outside at that time of morning and would not have got my WOW moment.