SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Which telescope to buy?

Hello, I am rather a new astronomer well... Will be soon :)

I decided to buy my self a telescope for Christmas however I am new to all of this, I do not know which one to buy and in my town two shops have each different telescopes and I have two to chose from which are:

CELESTRON AstroMaster 76EQ

OR

Danubia Merkur 60A Refractor Astro Telescope

Please help me out with the choice!

Thank you!

• Replies 29
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hi and welcome to the forum.

My recommendation would be to hold back from buying a scope for a while and try and save up a little more. For around £130 you can get something like this which would provide a good start to the hobby and far out perform the Astromaster 76 by a long way in every respect:

First Light Optics - Skywatcher Heritage 130p Flextube

A 76mm newtonian scope is just, in my opinion, not able to provide views of any objects, apart from perhaps the moon, that will provide any satisfaction.

I have found another shop near me that have telescopes, is national geograthic 76mm newtonian for 115P OR for lower (the best option since i wont get much money) celesteron 70 outfit if thats right name for 99P

I have found another shop near me that have telescopes, is national geograthic 76mm newtonian for 115P OR for lower (the best option since i wont get much money) celesteron 70 outfit if thats right name for 99P

I think you'd be better saving your money and trying to get something online like the Skywatcher Heritage 130P. I made the mistake of getting a cheap unknown brand telescope for my first 'scope and was totally disappointed. I saved a bit of money and then got a Skywatcher 130P and was so much happier.