Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

My first sighting of Saturn

Im a relative newbie to serious Astronomy so I was thrilled to get my first confirmed sighting of Saturn, yesterday from my back garden.

I describe here, how it unfolded.

I'd gone out early before work, at 6.30 am UK, just to see what stars were around because I don't normally view stars at this time. When I saw that the Plough / Big Dipper was directly overhead I thought it looked strange because I'd never seen it soo high.

It was then that I thought, now then, what if I follow the handle round to Arturus. Ok

Yes, there was Arcturus shining brightly. Then I thought what about Spica? Yes, Spica was there too, just above a house across the street.

It was when I saw Spica that I realised there was a chance to see Saturn, because I'd seen a feature about it on BBC Sky at Night earlier in the year.

I got out my 7x50 bins to get a closer look. I could tell through binos that what I was looking at was no star. I then quickly dragged my telescope out onto the patio to get an even closer look, braving strong winds.

I manually slewed to the object then looked throught the viewfinder.

What I saw blew me away, as well as the wind!

There was Saturn in all its glory. The rings clearly visible & tilted, also the shadow on them from the planet. It looked fantastic.

I could not believe what I was seeing, not least because I'd only stepped out just to look at a few stars.

I even managed to grab a snapshot with my compact camera by holding it against the eyepiece.I think it came out pretty well considering the circumstances, strong wind & clouds rolling across etc.

My most memorable sighting to date after Jupiter. I've no idea if Saturn is going to be better or worse for seeing over the next few months but I'd like to see it again for sure now that I know how to find it.

Saturn | Flickr - Photo Sharing!