SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Binoculars -- Am I over-thinking this decision?

As a complete novice, I wanted to start out with a simple pair of binoculars (10x50 or similar) in order to begin the process of learning the sky, learning the techniques and learning to get used to the freezing cold :) I've read a few guides, and have browsed around here a lot, and I think I'm starting to overthink things a little ;)

Given that I will be spending ~500pounds on a scope soon, should I be sweating so much about a 30-50pound pair of binoculars?

Here are the few I have narrowed it down to:

1. Bresser Hunter 7x50
  2. Bresser Hunter 10x50
  3. Celestron Upclose 10x50 No focus
  4. Viking standard 10x50

Would any of these be suitable as an entry into the hobby, or is there a model/manufacturer I should avoid?

Is there something else in a similar price range I should think about?

Your questions would get answered more in depth if you posted it here:

Observing - with Binoculars - Stargazers Lounge

Maybe a Mod would be so kind as to move this thread to the binocular section.

However i agree with Martin. The better known brands are worth sticking to: Bresser,Celstron,Revelation etc. Not sure what is available for £30-50. You may have to spend a bit more (£70-80).

If you're spending that much on a scope soon - though useful from time to time it's doubtfull you'll use the binocs quite so much. I find a set of Rocktrail 10x50's from Liddl's very good for the price. Nice and sharp and contrasty, but make sure you get a set that's well collimated (switch until you do). There's a 30-day money back no quibbles guarantee and only £15'ish ;)

In birdwatching Viking have a very high reputation for build and optical quality of their budget range optics. Notably sharpness in low light, just the job for those late afternoon Short Eared Owls.