Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Fake eyepieces?

johncbradley1

Hi guys

I have a small concern.

Ok, so I'm still new to astronomy and I have been wanting an eyepiece that is good for planets. I have read good reviews for the TMB planetary II so I decided I will go with this one, the 7.5mm to be exact. This one here - eBay - The UK's Online Marketplace

Anyway since my purchase I have read that this could be a FAKE eyepiece because TMB Optical do not list the 7.5mm on their website.

I messaged the eBay user where I purchased this from: "Hi, is this a genuine product from TMB Optical? I ask because TMB don't list the 7.5mm range on their website." and they replied this: "Thanks for your message. I confess I was surprised to see it but it is there on two of my suppliers lists who send us the goods from China where the TMBs are made. We also have a couple of 4.5mm for those who must have the complete set."

What are your thoughts on this matter?

• Replies 58
  • Created
  • Last Reply

This is an interesting one. John is correct about the product not being listed on the Burgess Optical or TMB Optical web sites. It is also not listed on a number of other retailer's web sites including Scopes and Skies or High Point Scientific in the US. It looks genuine from the picture.

Do you think I should send it back once I receive it?

If the eyepiece works OK then I would probably keep it.

I notice the seller rather confusingly describes it as a "wide angle Plössl eyepiece" The TMB Planetaries are not a plossl design.

The sellers don't have much control over what the Chinese manufacturers actually make and ship so whats probably happened is that this lot have 7.5mm stamped on them. It may well be exactly the same as a 7mm in reality.

I'm not sure that they should be using the TMB branding but that's a legal issue that's beyond my knowledge.

If the eyepiece works OK then I would probably keep it.