Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

n00b finally starting out properly

As I am still learning, I am still asking questions that are probably obvious, but there goes anyway...

With the barlow and the 15mm/25mm eyepieces, will I be able to see Nebulas and Galaxies as long as I know where to look? I rented 2 astronomy dvd's and one shows what you should be able to see during each month, and with the help of Stellarium (finally setup the way I like it) I want to starting DSO spotting.

I got quite excited when I saw, with my own eyes, Ursa Major last night in the sky above me. And after watching those dvds and fiddling with Stellarium, I wanted to go back outside and try find some DSO's.

Don't use too much magnification on Nebula and star clusters. These objects by enlarge are faint, and too much mag. will not show them very well.

When observing them, try to use a low power eyepiece initially, and if you feel the need to magnify the image you are looking at, then increase the magnification a small step at a time.

Ron. :D

Will more detail only be visible through Astrophotography? Do observers just find what they think is the DSO in the eyepiece, track it and keep the exposure open for as long as possible not knowing what they will see when the image is saved?

Will more detail only be visible through Astrophotography? Do observers just find what they think is the DSO in the eyepiece, track it and keep the exposure open for as long as possible not knowing what they will see when the image is saved?

Astrophotography can pick up much more detail that the eye as the image can be allowed to build up gradually over time and in this digital age can be layered, stacked, filtered and enhanced in all sorts of ways that your eye can't compete with.