Narrowband

M31 short exposures

Inspired by Laser Jock, I had a go at M31 from my back garden on Thursday night.

I've never used DSS before and to be honest I didn't have a clue what I was doing, but I'm really pleased with the result.

Combined 13 x 6 second exposures at f2 50mm, ISO 1600, I've read about darks on here before, so I threw 4 of those in too for good measure :)

post-23756-133877681597_thumb.jpg

Looking quite good, you shuold be proud of that! Can even see at least one of the rings in the galaxy clearly. :)

You seem to have missed a thiny thiny bit on the focuse though? Can be seen on the start shape an colour.

Remember to refocuse while/after the camera lens have cooled down. I focused my 50mm 1.4 before i started the night, and had to refocuse it 3 more times within 2 hours, as an examlpe... :(

what lens and camera did you use?

You seem to have missed a thiny thiny bit on the focuse though? Can be seen on the start shape an colour.

Yep I agree, I got the camera back inside hooked up to my laptop and thought hmmm, I've missed focus by a "smidgen" :(

I used my canon 1100d with the canon 50mm 1.8 (which never seems to leave the body, love it :)), I double checked the exif and the ISO was actually 800 not 1600. I also think I should have stepped down a stop from 1.8.

I think I might be ever so slightly hooked on this, but plan to get the most out of the camera and tripod. I got an eq-3 earlier in the year, so I think that may be the next step.

Thanks everyone for your comments :p

EDIT: This was enlarged 2x with the custom rectangle in DSS, I kept getting "out of memory" messages when I tried to process the whole frame. I think this has contributed to the softness of the final image.

hi rob