Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Hi,

Yesterday I was having a go at M31 and have been trying to process it as best as I can without clipping the data but it seems really washed out and lacking much detail in dust lanes. I'm happy with it but want to have another go at it and try and get more detail without the blown out core and washed out dust lanes.

132 x 15 sec lights at ISO1600

200P on CG5 with dual axis motors

Canon 1000D unmodded

andromeda.jpg

It seems everytime I go for 30 sec lights there is strange movement on them not like trails from polar alignment but vibrations on the mount?

Any help and criticism is much appreciated

Cheers

Carl

Hey Carl M

I have not yet done any astrophotography "trying to save up for a nice set up", so Im not all that familiar with the technical stuff behind that. But I am very experienced with photoshop due to the fact that Im a graphic designer. With that said I though I could help you out a little. After further evaluating your image I saw you had more detail than you initially thought, you just needed to show it some love. So I went in and reduced the brightness "alot" then bumped up the contrast to get more detail in the dust lanes. Once that was done I went in and did some dodging and burning to get more detail out, and then fixed the natural colors that were in your photo. I did this all very fast and there is more detail within your image. If you have the original high resolution image which Im assuming you do, then you can get even more detail out due to the higher pixel count. I hope this helped in some way and if you have any questions let me know.

TRm84.jpg