Stargazers Lounge Uses Cookies

Like most websites, SGL uses cookies in order to deliver a secure, personalised service, to provide social media functions and to analyse our traffic. Continued use of SGL indicates your acceptance of our cookie policy.

albusdlx

Need some DSO advice

I need to ask u guys a couple of questions. There are ALOT of threads on this. So this seemed some what easier. Creating a new thread for the equipment I have. It is as follows;

Celestron Astromaster 130EQ (650mm x 130mm) An F5 if i´m not mistaken.

Celestron 10mm & 20mm EP´s

Skywatcher SP 7.5mm & 32mm EP´s

Celestron Omni Barlow x2

Is it possible to see other things than the close planets, the moon and open star clusters?

Lets say, the great nebula in Orion, is this possible to see? I´m a total noob amateur.

I read some where that a scope like mine are good for DSO because of the big field of view. Is this correct?

Stupid question nr 3. Is total darkness an ABSOLUTE MUST?

I live at the edge of a city (Norrköping, Sweden about 120.000 citizens) So its dark in the east/south, compared to the north, over the city....

This got way longer then I wanted. Well well. Any pointers are good for me.

Thx

Edited by albusdlx
Type-O

Hello albusdlx,

Having the same scope as you, I would say that you are certainly not limited to the close planets and star clusters.

To answer your questions directly..

The great nebular in orion is an easy spot, you should certainly be able to pick out the Trapezium (4 stars grouped together). It won't be in colour like you see on the web, just black and white.

Some DSOs are small and some are large so saying a large field of view is good is not quite correct. It will help for some and hinder others, depending on the EPs you are using.