Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Astroplanner - Any Views

Don't know about any others being better!

The extensive catalogue data base in AstroPlanner V2 and the seamless interaction with CdC make it perfect for me.

I've been using it for the last six years or so...I'd be lost without it now.

Highly recommended.

• 2 weeks later...

Hi Dave, that sounds like it might be a permissions problem. Try right-clicking on the installation file and selecting the option 'run as administrator'. If that doesn't work, I'd definitely recommend joining the yahoo user group for astroplanner (link is on the website) - it's a really helpful user community which the developer actively participates in so I'm sure someone can help you there.

By the way I'm a +1 to recommend this app, I've been using it for a couple of months and find it really easy to use and very handy .. sure you'll love it when you get it working.

Matsey :)

Another similar package is SkyTools3. It's probably more powerful than Astroplanner and has a number of unique features. It places great emphasis on figuring out which objects will be best visible at what times and with what gear. The databases have been curated and it has very good info on double stars. It also goes to considerable pains to produce realistic impressions of what star fields look like through the eyepiece. It doesn't attempt to do the same for DSOs, however. The downsides are that it's more expensive and the interface is also, erm, unique... It takes a little getting used to. I like it, though, and use it for all my observing planning and logging.