Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Jupiter 30/09/111st attempt

junior

Ok this is my first attempt at jupiter on the same night i actually managed to get my scope out and see jupiter through it for the first time.

It is an amazing sight even as small as i could view it through my scope.

Now after looking at everyone elses images i am ashamed to post this and ask for advice.

This was taken on the 30/09/11 at around midnight, so conditions were good but Jupiter was still a little low and in the haze.

My scope is stated in the signature below and i got this image using a SPC880 flashed with a 2x barlow, whilst manually tracking and focusing the telescope.

I havent stacked this image or touched it up in registax as the video clip was short and very jumpy from me holding the scope.

Any advice would be appreciated.

junior-albums-spc880-picture13794-jupiter-1st-attempt.jpg

That's a great image given what scope you were using. Regards advice I would say join the dob owners group on the lounge and get some info on dob mods. Smoothing up the AZ movement will help no end. The more steady the avi you have the better the image will be after processing in registax.

Yeah, don't be too hash on yourself. You got it in frame using a camera connected to a dob with a barlow. That I know form experience is not that easy.

Do not underestimate the awesomeness of registax! With an .avi file with enough frames, that thing can produce wonders. Absolutely do not compare what you've got there to what others have posted. Processing is a vital stage. Give it a go and I think you'll be pleasantly suprised.

also just started imaging myself - try getting at least 1000 frames and run through registax6 - good start though you got banding and in the frame which is a challenge itself-took me about 30mins to get it in frame!!!