Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Advice on first time telescope

Hello, I am totally new to astronomy, although it's is something I have always wanted to get into. I am currently on the look out for my first telescope and have roughly £200 to spend.

I have so far come across the following potential scopes

Skywatcher SKYLINER-150P 153MM (6") F/1200 PARABOLIC DOBSONIAN TELESCOPE, the Celestron Astromaster 130EQ , SkyWatcher Explorer-130/900 EQ2 Telescope and the Skywatcher Explorer 130P Newtonian Reflector Telescope and I would appreciate any advice on where the best place to start might be.

In terms of the Skyliner 150p would it also be useful to buy a moon filter, or perhaps the Celestron Eye Piece & Filter Kit as well as the Celestron 'Omni' Series X2 Barlow Lens . I am obviously a totall beginner and while I don't want to spend a fortune I would also like to get something that offers decent quality. I would be grateful for any advice. thanks.

• Replies 31
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Well first of all, you'll probably find that they're all cheaper at FLO, which is just generally a better choice anyway:

First Light Optics - Suppliers of Astronomy telescopes, binoculars and accessories from Skywatcher, Celestron, Meade, William Optics, Atik, Imaging Source, Starlight Xpress, ADM, Moonlite, Catseye, Hotech and others.

Of those your best option would probably be the 150P, the others might be good (not as good) optically, but cheap equatorial mounts are (pretty much without fail) wobbly and hard to grasp for beginners. The dob will provide the largest aperture and be the easiest to use, which are really the main things you're looking for.